I Wish You a Merry Christmas


Yes, that’s right, Merry Christmas. And I’m not even religious, but I have been celebrating Christmas since I was a child and so has everyone in my family and that is what I am going to say.

Ya wanna know why? Cause I don’t believe in all of this watering down of holidays to make everyone feel better. Frankly, I think it’s insulting. If you celebrate Hanukkah, then please, by all means, wish me a Happy Hanukkah. I appreciate that you have shared your seasonal festivities with me, thank you. I’ll take a Blessed Yule too. No one, of any religion, should  feel required to say Season’s Greetings and Happy Holidays to somehow make everyone feel included. On the contrary, I think it makes people feel like they have to hide their beliefs somehow, almost as if they should feel ashamed and that’s just plain ridiculous.

If we should all have a better understanding of each other and our cultures, then we need to stop trying to make everyone exactly the same because we are not and that is a fact. We don’t raise our kids the same, or eat the same or even have the same moral values. Isn’t that a good thing? I mean, not one of my Jewish, Wiccan or Muslim friends has ever told me I couldn’t take part in their traditions – on the contrary, they have wanted me to learn more about them. I have never, ever been insulted when some threw me a Blessed Be or lit a Menorah in my presence.

If you feel all left out or insulted because someone says Feliz Navidad or asks you to spin a Dreidel, then maybe you are the one who needs to simmer down – these people want to share their joy with you, NOT exclude you. I mean honestly, is seeing a Christmas tree or a Menorah or a Pentagram that horrible? When someone gives me treats for Chinese New Year, I don’t go “Oh, no, that’s wrong – in America we celebrate it on January first.” On the contrary, I think it’s pretty cool that they thought of me, a non-Chinese person. At this rate, we had better take down all the jolly Holly, cause the Wiccans think it’s sacred. “Oh,” you say, “but what about all these public displays? That’s the problem.” Really? What specifically is the problem? Has any town ever checked everyone to see what religion they were before they their kids were permitted visit the dude dressed like Santa? Did they ever force their citizens to take part in the lighting of a religious symbol? No? So, I don’t get it, what’s the issue? If public display itself is the problem, then  I guess we need to ban Muslim girls from wearing head-scarves because it’s a “public display” of their religion? Tuck all the Star of David’s and Crucifixes in our shirts too? We have to ban the sale of looped pretzels in all publicy owned and operated facilities too, rod form only please, because as we all know the design for  yummy, soft giant looped pretzels were created by an Italian monk to reward Christian children for saying their prayers .  Come on, keep it going, I’m sure we could make a list a mile long.

If we are all supposed to be about “one race, the human race” and embrace each other’s traditions, etc., etc., then how about we stop trying to make everything generic which is boring and dull. And don’t we have better things to do than to constantly worry about than whether or not the tree in front of some public building is called a Holiday Tree or a Christmas Tree? Do you really think a sick child or a hungry person really gives a *&$% or do you think they’d rather just get better and have something to eat regardless of what the thing with the lights on it is called?

If you don’t wish to partake, simply say “thank you” and be grateful that someone thought of you, but don’t get all uppity about it. And for the rest of you who are worried about being PC  – screw that! You need to own your religion and if someone doesn’t like it, then that’s their problem.

This entry was posted in Random Babbling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Wish You a Merry Christmas

  1. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have truly loved surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope
    you write again very soon!

  2. Susan Wojtowicz says:

    No one could have said it better. You should submit it to the Daily News Voice of the People – voicers@edit.nydailynews.com .

Leave a Reply

