Experimental Baking: Candy Corn Chocolate Cookies


First of all, I am NOT a professional baker, I’m just bored, so if this recipe sucks for you, I don’t wanna hear about it. That being said, here we go.

It’s January, Halloween is long gone but I still have a ton of candy corn.  Why? It’s cheap and I like it. Also, there don’t seem to be as many trick-or-treaters around these parts as there used to be. I always get too much candy and always have it sitting around ’til Easter.

So, what shall I do? I can’t throw it away, that would just be wrong. It is snowing out, and so I should be baking something, right? Hows about chocolate cookies with candy corn instead of chocolate chips?I guess it could work,  I mean, they’re just corn syrup and vanilla for the most part. And so I check the web figuring that there has to be an abundance of recipes out there, but I find that I’m wrong. I find recipes where the triangular bites are placed atop the cookie and a few where the cookie is kind of flat. Hmmm… I was hoping for something that uses them like chips or “baking bits” and are a little puffier or chewy even. I guess I have to experiment, so here I go.

El Recipe para Chocolate Candy Corn Cookies (like the Espanol? I know, right?)

¾ C butter – room temp, so it mixes nice

¼ c shortening

1 C sugar

½ C dark brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 C flour

2/3 C cocoa

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 1/2 C candy corn, cut in halves – no more or the cookies fall apart

Ok, sit down and using a sharp knife, cut all of your candy corn in halfish – you want them to be close to chip size. At least that’s what I did. I suppose if you have one of those fancy choppy machine thingies you could use that, but I do not. I ended up using about 16 of the little bags from the giant bag. Next, cream together the sugars, butter and shortening. Add your eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine your flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Add your candy corn and then combine all of this with your buttery sugary mix AKA your wet ingredients. After it’s all mixed nicely, put it in the fridge while you preheat your oven to 350 degrees and clean up the mess you’ve made. All done? Good. Now, plop your batter onto an ungreased cookie sheet.

How big? I dunno, I didn’t really measure. A good spoonful I guess – you want them kinda big because if they’re too small, they kind of fall apart when they’re done.

See – over there on the right? That’s what happens when you don’t use enough batter and you’re impatient about getting them off the trays 😦

What have I learned from this? Well, I’m not sure if chilling the dough is really necessary, but it’s what I always do when I use a cookie recipe with butter in it. I read somewhere once that they don’t flatten as much. I also always use bleached, all-purpose flour and wipe down my cookie sheets in between batches as greasy sheets tend to lead to flat cookies. Also, too much candy is not good or they won’t hold together.  Because your cookies will continue to ooze candy corn as they after they come out of the oven, you really have to  let them cool for at least 10 minutes before you pry them up.  You may want to use parchment paper if you don’t have non-stick sheets. Oh, and make sure the edge of your spatula is clean (no cookie stuck to them from the last batch) or you won’t be able to get under them nicely.

And finally, to be honest, the candy corn lends pretty much nothing at all to these cookies. This is probably the reason there aren’t many recipes for such a thing. Duh. BUT, the cookie part is awesome! At least to me it is. They taste like brownies, but in cookie form, no chips necessary. So, in the end, it was not really a waste at all, I done made myself my very own cookie recipe and that is kinda cool.

If by some miracle a skilled baker comes across this post and has any pointers, please feel free to comment.  🙂

This entry was posted in Random Babbling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

